Most simmers dread the evil Patch that EA releases. For the most part it does more harm than good. Fixes one thing but breaks another.

They say once you patch, you cannot “unpatch”.

That’s true entirely true. There is a way to revert back to a previous patch if you decided to have a change of heart. I call it the Rollback method. It involves not having to uninstall then reinstalling the game like some users had done.

Before patching your game. Create a checkpoint on your computer.

This only works on Windows, I don’t know about Macs, cause I don’t own one nor ever used one (other than DJing, which I borrowed :p )

How to create a checkpoint (XP, Vista, 7, 8):

  1. Go to your Control Panel
  2. Click on System then click on Advance system settings
  3. Click on the System Protection tab
  4. Scroll down to the bottom and you’ll see “Create a restore point right now for the drives that have system protection turned on”

 

Like this:

 

You must have Protection turned on first.

  • Now click create and give it a name.
  • Follow the steps it gives you.

 

Like always, remember to take out your Mods folder before patching, yada yada.

 

So you’re having a change of heart or your game is all kinds of jacked up and you now want to return to the previous patch.

  • Follow the same steps when creating checkpoint, expect for step 4.
  • Click on System Restore.
  • It will show checkpoints that the computers, towards the bottom click the box that say “Show more restore points”
  • Click on the one your created.
  • Follow the steps it gives you.
  • After your computer is finished, Go to your Sims folder and rename it.
  • Open the launcher so the game will generate a new folder.
  • Run your game for a little bit, 5-10 minutes.
  • Exit out
  • Copy your Saves, Mods, Downloads, Library, DCCache, Screenshots, ect from the old folder into the new folder.
  • Play!

 

 

What if I didn’t create a checkpoint?

Your computer automatically creates checkpoints on its own time to time. Just pick one that was before you patched. However the computer only keeps older checkpoints for so long before deleting it. If you been playing on the 1.63 patch for 2 months, chances are a checkpoint created before you patched won’t be available if you wanted to return back to the patch before.

 

 

If you have any questions, drop a comment 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s